Friday, June 27, 2008

Anniversary.Memories.Birthdays.

This morning I began to pack up a few things for my vacation next week and came across Keller's paperwork in my filing cabinet. I have now had my lil blind dog for a year!! AWW, YAY! Which then also reminded me that tomorrow is Quinn's birthday and I have given him choices, do you want clothes?, do you want to wait and get something in Maine? do you want another Ipod(cause his got stolen when our cars got broken into)? And I still haven't gotten an answer so I don't know what to do. I am thinking I will take him out to dinner somewhere nice and then probably get some of his friends together and go to Chilli's or something since we have to pack and be out there door and ready to go on Sunday! I can not wait to go to Maine and this year we will be up there for July 4th which is one of my favorite holidays and it will also be me and Quinker's 2 year anniversary. Oh wow! Look at us go, a whole 2 years. Haha. I don't know how he has put up with me for this long ;).


But, also as I began to pack I looked up at the end table in the living room and saw the picture of Alex that we have in a pretty silver frame and my mood quickly changed. Last year packing for Maine was a blast and I couldn't wait to get there, more importantly I couldn't wait to get there and go to Freeport with Caitlin and Alex and get my shop on. For the first two days we were in Maine last year, we (the three of us) shopped till we dropped till Alex had to leave. It was so much and was such a good bonding moment spent with endless girl talk and Starbucks coffee. Of course there were other fun times like actually playing in the lake and going to the local fire department for their "chicken bbq" that was NOT bbq (damn yanks mess up everything!!! hahahah).

With all these memories flooding back to me I couldn't help but be saddened by remembering that this year Maine will still be fun and Alex will definitely be there in spirit, but it is not going to be the same. Everywhere we look we will be reminded of her and the memories that were made at the Lake with her every summer. I am especially saddened for Caitlin and her family (Jane, George and Zeke) because I know that this trip will be especially hard on them because we are going to be doing a sort of "memorial service" for Alex where we will be spreading her ashes at her favorite place, the Lake. So please keep the Andrus/Hartner family in your thoughts and prayers this week as we all say our final goodbyes to Alex :(.

But don't get too sad, ya'll. Alex is going to be there with us and she would want us to have fun and fun we will have. Every laugh, every smile and every "remember when..." story will be with her in our memory. Keep looking for updated posts with pictures and stories of our adventures in Maine (yay, the house we are staying at this year has cable and internet, SCORE!).

SO over it

Ok, I know I am not the only one who is over this hot, sticky and extremely smokey days. They suck and if the smoke is this bad on the Banks, I can only imagine how bad and annoying it must be out in Tyrrell, Hyde and Washington. I mean poor Quinn has been working in Manteo since the fires began and his asthma is acting up like crazy. I feel bad for all of my family over in Manteo, Wanchese and Englehard because the smoke inhalation is giving me a serious headache and scratchy eyes so I can only imagine how they must be feeling. I was really hoping that the torentual downfall that came on Monday afternoon would at least help these fires, but it doesn't appear to have done a dern thing. Oh and if you didn't know our air quality here in Eastern North Carolina is so bad that they had to make a new color of the code chart.

And you know what else is annoying, We, in North Carolina, have two - count that, TWO- raging wildfires (the Evans Road and the Great Dismal Swamp) and neither one of them have made it to national headlines but God forbid precious California catch on fire and every major news station is not only reporting on the fire but they are on location for an up-to-the-date report. What? Are these news anchors scared to come down to "Hickville" North Carolina? Cause that is really the only excuse I can think of for not informing the American people of what's going on in their country. I guess this is just another example of how the news and journalist don't always give the full story ;)

Monday, June 23, 2008

Me and My Crazy Dreams....again

So, I am always having some weird dream but last night I had a dream that was so real to me. I woke up covered in sweat and tears. I dreamt that one of my very good guy friends died in a horrible car crash and then at the funeral, he popped up out of the casket. I know, it sounds so weird. Then, today as I was leaving LaFogata I passed him coming in and the biggest sigh of relief came over me, but I still have this nervous knot in my stomach like something bad is going to happen. I know dreams always mean things and are full of symbolism so I am really wondering what this is suppose to mean. All I do know is it is really creeping me out.


Oh and while I was at LaFogata, this nice little thunderstorm rolled through (which is making me feel like the worst parent ever because Keller is outside and I feel so bad for him, he's all wet and its thundering..:( )and across the way on the Sound in Kitty Hawk you could see this massive waterspout and the whole restaurant flocks to the windows to check it out. I couldn't help but laugh at the tourist that were getting creeped out thinking it was a tornado. It was getting bigger and bigger and then as soon as hit the land you could watch it just diminish, it was really pretty and entertaining to see them all freak out. HAHA. I can not wait to go home and get my little buddy out of the rain but at least now I don't have to give him a bath ;).


Other than the above-mentioned, today has been a great day. I found out that one of my best friends, Allison (aka my TWIN) and her husband, Ryan are expecting their first child. YAY!!!!! Congrats to them.


PS: If you are a summer reader like me, I have already finished two books this summer that I highly recommend. If you are looking for a good laugh "Are You There Vodka, It's Me Chelsea" by the hilarious Chelsea Handler is a great beach book. And, if you are more of a suspense reader, "The Quickie" by James Patterson is a "can't put it down" read. I am getting ready to start reading "Sail" by James Patterson, so check back for a review of that in a few weeks :)

Me and My Crazy Dreams....again

So, I am always having some weird dream but last night I had a dream that was so real to me. I woke up covered in sweat and tears. I dreamt that one of my very good guy friends died in a horrible car crash and then at the funeral, he popped up out of the casket. I know, it sounds so weird. Then, today as I was leaving LaFogata I passed him coming in and the biggest sigh of relief came over me, but I still have this nervous knot in my stomach like something bad is going to happen. I know dreams always mean things and are full of symbolism so I am really wondering what this is suppose to mean. All I do know is it is really creeping me out.

Oh and while I was at LaFogata, this nice little thunderstorm rolled through (which is making me feel like the worst parent ever because Keller is outside and I feel so bad for him, he's all wet and its thundering..:( )and across the way on the Sound in Kitty Hawk you could see this massive waterspout and the whole restaurant flocks to the windows to check it out. I couldn't help but laugh at the tourist that were getting creeped out thinking it was a tornado. It was getting bigger and bigger and then as soon as hit the land you could watch it just diminish, it was really pretty and entertaining to see them all freak out. HAHA. I can not wait to go home and get my little buddy out of the rain but at least now I don't have to give him a bath ;).

Other than the above-mentioned, today has been a great day. I found out that one of my best friends, Allison (aka my TWIN) and her husband, Ryan are expecting their first child. YAY!!!!! Congrats to them.

PS: If you are a summer reader like me, I have already finished two books this summer that I highly recommend. If you are looking for a good laugh "Are You There Vodka, It's Me Chelsea" by the hilarious Chelsea Handler is a great beach book. And, if you are more of a suspense reader, "The Quickie" by James Patterson is a "can't put it down" read. I am getting ready to start reading "Sail" by James Patterson, so check back for a review of that in a few weeks :)

Wednesday, June 11, 2008

Wildfire Part II

This fire is getting so out of control. If you are not a resident of the area, consider yourself lucky. The smoke paired with the disgustingly humid heatwave that just moved through the area has made life outside completely dreadful. Poor Quinn has been working in Manteo in this nasty heat with such heavy dense smoke that a "gas mask" type device was necessary to proficiently work. Not to mention, that the other day it was "snowing" ash across the Outer Banks which is quite aways away from the actual fire. Even residents as far as Wakefield, Virginia, which is more than 80 miles away can smell the smoke. The National Weather Service issued a dense smoke advisory for the coastal plain and as far west as Vance and Granville counties in the northeast Piedmont. As of today the fire has grown to 40,195 acres, or about 63 square miles and is still growing with every second near the Pocosin Lakes National Wildlife Refuge. Last nights slight rain shower barely helped douse the raging flames.

These links are updated regularly with constants stats of the fire if you would like to check them out. This fire is damaging peoples farms and homes and recovering from this. Please keep the people of Eastern North Carolina in your prayers.

Wednesday, June 4, 2008

Wildfire

For all you hermit crabs, people who just woke up, haven't been outside and/or don't read the news, it smells like a giant ass bonfire out there, ya'll. There is a giant marsh/wild fire in Washington and Hyde counties that has burned over 10,000acres. They have already evacuated a neighborhood consisting of 40 homes in Washington County. And now, because of the wind, the smoke has become very heavy on the northern beaches so needless to say work in Duck should be interesting tonight with all these dumbass tourists. ;)

This morning the weather was telling me a clear pretty day but it looked so overcast from bed, but once i stepped outside I smelt and saw it. Once I got to work (next to the Currituck bridge) it was so "foggy". I didn't know what was going on until I listened to the radio and heard a statement that smoke was blowing into coastal areas, and urged residents and people visiting the Outer Banks to stay inside if they have trouble breathing. We need rain, BAD and unfortunately it doesn't look like we have any in the forecast. It looks hot and dry. Scary this is just right down the road. Please keep the families of Hyde and Washington in mind throughout this time.

Monday, June 2, 2008

Gay Pride.

June is Gay and Lesbian Pride time and as Americans, gay or straight, we all tend to take that freedom to for granted. This past weekend a handful of gay and lesbian Russians planned to have their first ever gay pride parade through Moscow to commemorate the 13th anniversary of the decriminalization of homosexuality in Russian in 1993, but days before they planned to march, the city had denied their request. An opinion poll showed 43% of Russians believe gay men should be incarcerated. Chief Mufti Talgat Tadzhuddin, a Russian Muslim leader stated that "If they come out on to the streets anyway they should be flogged," he said. "Any normal person would do that -- Muslims and Orthodox Christians alike [The protests] might be even more intense than protests abroad against those controversial cartoons." Shortly after they began parading through the city, protesters began throwing eggs and running into the streets to attack. There were even old ladies on the side of the road saying prayers for the Gay's. "We believe these perverts should not be allowed to march on the streets of Moscow, the third Rome, a holy city for all Russians," said Igor Miroshnichenko, who said he was an Orthodox believer who had come to support the riot police. "It (homosexuality) is satanic," he said. One man holding a crucifix threatened to beat up any gay person he saw. Riot Police were sent to break it up, arresting over 120 people both supporters and opponents, But if the cops don't tow the "politically-correct" line, they suffer retribution. A career-cop, Guy Adams, was suspended by his police department for his stance on homosexuality. He was threatened with termination if he continued to voice his concerns over gay-adoption and same-sex marriage. Adams' superiors went as far as investigating his political affiliations and activities which included working for conservative politician Dr. Alan Keyes.


Come on you dumbass commies, just let the people be who they are and let it all go. I don't see where someones sexual preference is another persons business. Let people be who they are. Attacking people for what they believe in or who they are attracted to is wrong. So out of all the things America has wrong at least one thing we have right is our rights and our freedoms. So maybe everyone should sit back and stop talking shit about their home Country during this crucial time in our history and start appreciating what little good is left in America. Although I do believe that even though we have the right to pretty much do and believe whatever, this Country has a long way to go before it will live up to its reputation as one of the best nation. So support the gays and lesbians this June and STOP THE HATE!

I don't know what this Judge in Texas is thinking! He is releasing over 400 children that were taken from their families a month or so ago when the Yearning for Zion "ranch" CULT was busted. Is SHE smoking crack? Yes, that's right it was a female judge that returned these children to their mothers. That is not a healthy or safe enviorment for these kids to be going back to. I am pretty bothered by this to be honest with you. I guess the plus side is that D.S.S. (Department of Social Services) will be conducting unannounced visits to the children where there will be medical, psychological and psychiatric examinations and, here is the big plus, the parents must attend and complete parenting classes. The families must remain in the state of Texas and notify the department within 48 hours of any trips more than 100 miles from their homes. Wow, its about time someone get these people intouchand up to date with 2008. That shit they are trying to pull is like living in 1808 or something. Their pathetic argument is that they are being persecuted for their religion, that even sounds like something some villager from the 19th century would have said. I feel like sitting them down and saying "Hey FREAKS the world thinks yall are wackfor forcing young girls to marry and have sex with men old enough to be their dads, that shit is wack!" Although I will never be able to share my dismay with these nut cases at least the whole country is having a good laugh at their expense and really that is the only upside to this scenario.


See what I am saying? This is not normal. No one dresses like that or treats their kids the way these people do. They really need to step into the 21st Century.

Here is a clip of a child being escorted off the ranch premises back in April.

Even sadder news: Universal Studios' Backlot went up into an inferno. This is the seven fire the studio has experienced since it was founded in 1915. Over 40,000 reels were destroyed in the vault but thank goodness nothing in the main vault, which contains the archival footage was destroyed. Not to mention historic sets, like the Courthouse from Back To The Future and New York street, which includes movie set-style buildings designed to look like the cityscape of New York City and the King Kong Exhibit on the lot were damaged. The set of "The Changeling," a film recently directed by Clint Eastwood and starring Angelina Jolie, was "completely destroyed" and two of the eight locations used by the CBS series "Ghost Whisperer" were affected. There was a commercial being shot on the Backlot of the studio where the fire began, and an investigation is under way. Big thanks to the fire fighters and volunteers who stopped what they were doing to help douse the blaze with water and save Universal. Below are a few shots of the inferno.