"Oh my gosh, you actually live here."
"I didn't know people actually lived here."
"You must have had an awesome time growing up."
These are just a few of the reactions I get daily from the idiot tourists who come on vacation to the Outer Banks. I mean, are you kidding me? Every time someone makes an asinine comment like the examples shown above, I just want to slap them.
Of course people live on the Outer Banks. How else would all the businesses get run? What do they think that at the end of summer we pull down a big barrier that blocks off the Island and everyone vacates for the winter and then when summer comes we open the Island back up like a theme park or something? Common sense people, it will get you a long way.
While at work the other night I was waiting on some people visiting from up north (PA I think) and they were saying how the locals are bad drivers, my guess is that they did not have much room to be speaking. I asked why they thought that and they told me about "the horrible road rage"and the countless times they had cars "ride their ass". WELL DUH! I told them. You have got to go the speed limit. Seems so simple doesn't it? For some reason when people cross over the bridge(s) on to the Island they seem to think that 50 MPH means 45 MPH and that there are no such things as turning signals and turning lanes. If I see one more person stop in the left hand lane and wait to turn, thus holding up traffic, rather than just scooting over into the designated lane for turning, I am just going to slam into the back of them!!! (haha ok, no I wouldn't really do that).
I am sorry but when I go on vacation somewhere, I have a little bit more respect for the locals. I drive the speed limit, not my brakes, and if I am looking for something and drive past it, I don't slam on breaks and cause a huge scene, I just simply go to the next turn or stop light and turn around and go back. Why is it that people who visit the Outer Banks can't have the same courtesy? I hate when I am running late or in a hurry to get from one end of the beach to the other and it takes me two hours (which I can normally do in about 45 min.) because people can't drive.
So if you are a past, present or future visitor of the Outer Banks, just take this post as a friendly reminder to act like a normal person and not an asshole while on vacation.
P.S. Tips are greatly appreciated ;). If you can afford to go on vacation and go out to eat then you can afford to tip. Thank you!
No comments:
Post a Comment