Thursday, May 28, 2009

.Corolla Wild Horse Tragedy.

So for as long as I can remember the Corolla Wild Horses have been apart of my life. My family has been involved with the Corolla Wild Horse Fund and when I was just a baby my family banded together and built a beach house down at the very end of Corova beach, just feet from the Virginia border. I have so many wonderful memories from that house and that beach. Of course now, just like every other part of the Outer Banks, Corova beach is slowing being built up by monstrosities houses.

When I would visit our beach house, nicknamed "The Hut" I would love waking up to the crazy rooster next door that did not just crow at dawn but ALL day long and then looking out the window and/or front door and seeing a horse or two. One summer, my grandfather was cutting the grass and felt a nudge/tap on his shoulder and assumed it was my grandmother and was astonished to turn around and see a wild horse standing there just saying Hey! These animals are amazing to me and as most of you may know I am not that big of a fan of horses anyways because they always tend to buck me off but for some reason these horses do not scare me at all. Anytime they see a camera it's like they stop what they are doing and pose so that you can get that perfect shot. There has never been a report of any Corolla Wild Horse attacking or harming any human or their property and so it brings me to the question, why would a human harm them?

The Corolla Wild Horses are not only endangered but are a treasured icon of the Corolla area of the Outer Banks. This Memorial Day Weekend some rich, prick asshole staying in Corova killed a beautiful stallion who went by the name Spec. He was featured in many of the posters and brochures for the Wild Horses. Sadly the asshole who killed this horse did not even have the guts to finish what they started. They hit his left hind leg and it was reported that it was hit with such force that it was snapped completely in two and the horse was euthanized at 2:30 p.m. on May 23rd. There were ATV tracks all around where the horse was originally seen on the beach at 6:43 a.m. It is possible that ATV’s were being used to chase the horse and then hit him. Residents reported hearing ATV’s tearing around at 1 and 2 a.m. With this information I can conclude that the people who hit this innocent creature were most likely WASTED and that is no excuse. I just can not fathom causing harm to any animal let alone hurting and then leaving it to suffer and die. This AMAZING horse drug himself up over the dunes over a mile from where he was first seen. I have no words to describe what the last few hours were like for Spec. He did not want to die and he fought and struggled long and hard, poor boy he must have been terrified! Back in 2007 someone shot one of the wild horses and there have been many, many other shootings and the shooter has never been found. Then in April of this year there was yet another hit and run where the horse was left to suffer. When the horse was found he was literally shaking from the effort of holding himself up...he knew if he went down he wouldn't be able to get back up again This is completely uncalled for. No animal should suffer needlessly.


FYI: Spec is the horse that is in the center of this picture.

If you have any information about these tragedies, there is a town meeting at the Corolla Firehouse at 5:30 PM today. Please CLICK HERE to join the fight in saving and protecting these beautiful creatures and if you are regular blogger, CLICK HERE to follow the Corolla Wild Horse Fund's blog.

.....FYI, I have been crying the whole time writing this not only cause I find this story so upsetting and repulsing but I am so pissed that some stupid tourist would do something so cruel. And then people wonder why the locals hate them so much when they come here...

Saturday, May 23, 2009

.A Day at the OB Hospital.

I have always heard people say that once you have a child that your body gets all out of wack and you can get crazy sicknesses and weird stuff like that but I never thought anything would happen to me.My
Thursday morning I woke up and I felt like I had been hit by a Mac truck! I only had a slight temperature (99.1) so I took some Tylenol cold and flu because not only did I have the fever but my neck and back hurt and I had a killer migraine. I mean I was walking around the house in sunglasses it was that bad. Throughout the day everything kept getting worse and worse and that night when I went to bed my temperature had gone up to 101.5. That night Quinn quarantined me to the bedroom while he and Silas slept in the living room. That night I got no sleep and every time I woke up I was laying in a puddle of sweat, it was gross!
Yesterday morning when I woke up my temperature was 103.5 so I rushed to Regional Medical and they gave me a bag of fluids and called an ambulance to come and get me and take me to the hospital because they thought it was my appendix.
While on the way to the hospital some dumb fuck from New Jersery or something pulled out in front of the ambulance causing the driver to slam on breaks. I nearly thought I was going to go flying out the back of the ambulance.
Upon arrival at the wonderful Outer Banks Hospital ER the nurses began taking my vitals and this bitch of a nurse decides it would be a great idea to take my blood pressure on the arm that has an IV in it. That hurt so bad I am surprised that I did not hit this woman. I think my doctor had a lot of fun yesterday because from the time I got there at around 10:30 AM and the time his shift ended at 6:30 PM he order me for 3 different Cat scans, a MRI and took tube upon tube of blood. When he left they still had no diagnosis for me and my temperature was still rollercoastering up and down and the doctor that took over for him was an idiot in my opinion. Not only did that doctor barely come in to check on me she diagnosed me with a bacterial infection of my small and large intestines. I have to go see a specialist in Elizabeth City next week to have him further investigate the infection. That's all well and good but I just do not see how that would cause the tremendous back and neck pains and the migraines that I was having.
Now I understood that I could not nurse Silas for 24 hours because of the contrast dye that used for the MRI and the Cat scans but then they gave me a prescription for 15 days of antibiotics and I can not nurse that whole time so now it is looking like I am going to have to use formula. I know that eventually I would have had to have stopped breastfeeding but I did not want it to be at such a young age. So needless to say I am pretty pissed off about that!
When Quinn went to go pick up Silas from his parents house this morning, his mom's friend had meningitis a long time ago and said that all my symptoms point to that and the only test that the doctor did not run was a Lumbar tap to test for meningitis. The doctor kept saying to my mom that if it was his daughter he would not do that test unless he really really thought that's what it was but frankly I think he should have because that is probably what I have but I guess we will see. This morning when I woke up and took my temperature it was 102.1 and I was very nauseous and dizzy but I took my antibiotics and my wonderful Vicodins and I must say that I do feel a lot better. My temperature is at 98.1 and I am able to walk around and clean and do laundry. Other than the fact that I am profusely sweating I am happy and I hope that the medicine they gave me works and I get better soon because I HATE being sick.
So keep me in your thoughts and prayers and keep checking back for an update on how I am doing! :)

Monday, May 18, 2009

.Happy Birthday!.

Happy One Month Birthday
to
Silas Jackson Andrus.

He now weighs 9lbs 5oz and is 21.5 inches long.
YAY! :)

Thursday, May 14, 2009

.A Month Already,

Wow!! My lil' man will be one month old on Monday! Time surely does fly. The day we brought him home, I went to go change his diaper. I mean, I would have thought he was done pooping but while changing my FIRST diaper he projectile pooped across the room and spraying a little on my face as it went zooming by. It was so gross. Two days later, Quinn was changing him and he pee'd across the room but lucky for Quinn he was able to dodge the stream. It's so funny when someone is holding him for the first time and he begins to make his poopy faces and they comment about him going to the bathroom and I always have to tell them, when and if he is going to go to the bathroom you will not only feel it but you will hear it! Yes, that's right my baby is a loud, very loud pooper and farter. It is amazing that something that loud can come out of something so small.

When we went for his two week check up, his doctor told us that by that check up they normally look for babies to be back at their birth weight (because babies tend to lose weight at first) but Silas was one whole pound over his birth weight at his appointment and not only that but he had grown 2 inches! But do not let this story fool you, he is still a small little baby. The majority of his newborn clothes are still a little big on him and he is wearing a lot of preemie stuff. Mostly because he is so tall and skinny. He is a lean, mean, eating machine!!! I feel like all I am ever doing either feeding him or pumping to have stored milk for when I go back to work! If you have not heard him eat, then you should.....it's hilarious!!! He is the loudest eater, he hums and grunts the WHOLE time. He will eat till he starts spitting up and then he goes to the bathroom and his little newborn diapers can never hold the river that he loads it up with so almost every outfit he wears gets pee'd on! oh how the laundry piles up.

His first bath was not fun! He hated it, though I do not that many babies that were keen on having their first bath either. I did not take pictures.....I know I am horrible and I keep forgetting to every other time I have given him a bath, BUT we did make a video of his first bath so when we finish editing that I will definitely post it! Now, Silas is obviously an adorable baby but what people can not tell from his pictures and most of the time holding him is that he has a MAJOR mullet going on!!! It's pretty funny :) You see he was born with quite a head of hair but now it is falling out where he is always laying on it but the long hair that's on the nape of his neck is not falling out but yet it is growing. It's so cute!!

With the weather going from warm to hot to cold to warm again lil' man has developed the sniffles so we have been having to use to booger sucker and he is not a big fan. His doctor recommended using some saline to flush his nose out and let him sleep in his swing or something slightly elevated rather than flat to drain and so far, so good. He still sneezes and has a few boogers but it's a lot better than it was!
Silas has only had one play date with his friend, Asa but there will be many more to come! Keep checking back for updates on my lil' man! :)

Sunday, May 3, 2009

.Wow.....

Please CLICK HERE to watch the most bizarre racist commercial I have ever seen....




wow.