Saturday, April 26, 2008

FUR IS DEAD

Ok, when I was little I had my rabbit fur coat I was in love with till I actually realized how the coat was made. Even now I hate fur. I hate fur coats or fur boots (uggs do not count) or fur trimmed things. I just don't think it's really that cute.

I just watched the most disturbing video ever (and as I am writing this, I am still crying). Please watch this and understand how cruel the fur market is. If you wear real fur....STOP! If you must wear fur, please wear faux fur. Thank you and enjoy.

[youtube=http://youtube.com/watch?v=ONuCTbp9tDE]

Wednesday, April 23, 2008

Annoyances of a Local

"Oh my gosh, you actually live here."


"I didn't know people actually lived here."


"You must have had an awesome time growing up."


These are just a few of the reactions I get daily from the idiot tourists who come on vacation to the Outer Banks. I mean, are you kidding me? Every time someone makes an asinine comment like the examples shown above, I just want to slap them.

Of course people live on the Outer Banks. How else would all the businesses get run? What do they think that at the end of summer we pull down a big barrier that blocks off the Island and everyone vacates for the winter and then when summer comes we open the Island back up like a theme park or something? Common sense people, it will get you a long way.

While at work the other night I was waiting on some people visiting from up north (PA I think) and they were saying how the locals are bad drivers, my guess is that they did not have much room to be speaking. I asked why they thought that and they told me about "the horrible road rage"and the countless times they had cars "ride their ass". WELL DUH! I told them. You have got to go the speed limit. Seems so simple doesn't it? For some reason when people cross over the bridge(s) on to the Island they seem to think that 50 MPH means 45 MPH and that there are no such things as turning signals and turning lanes. If I see one more person stop in the left hand lane and wait to turn, thus holding up traffic, rather than just scooting over into the designated lane for turning, I am just going to slam into the back of them!!! (haha ok, no I wouldn't really do that).
I am sorry but when I go on vacation somewhere, I have a little bit more respect for the locals. I drive the speed limit, not my brakes, and if I am looking for something and drive past it, I don't slam on breaks and cause a huge scene, I just simply go to the next turn or stop light and turn around and go back. Why is it that people who visit the Outer Banks can't have the same courtesy? I hate when I am running late or in a hurry to get from one end of the beach to the other and it takes me two hours (which I can normally do in about 45 min.) because people can't drive.

So if you are a past, present or future visitor of the Outer Banks, just take this post as a friendly reminder to act like a normal person and not an asshole while on vacation.

P.S. Tips are greatly appreciated ;). If you can afford to go on vacation and go out to eat then you can afford to tip. Thank you!

Monday, April 21, 2008

Kickin Summer 08 Off The Right Way

Ahhh, the beginning of summer and it is feeling GREAT! This weekend was the start of what I am foreseeing to be a great summer :).

Friday night Britton was in town and of course that always means a good time, Lacie girl, and chicken and brocolli stuffed crusonts ;).
Saturday was be-you-tee-full and it was about damn time!!! Me, Stephanie and Ashley laid out all day by the pool. It was nice till me being fed up with my disgustingly pale ass lathered up in oil, then about an hour later put on a coat of TB lotion with bronzer and then about the last hour of laying out put on more oil. I got sooo much sun and I am stoked to not be white anymore! While we were laying out, Tristan was taking his nap so afterwards I ran upstairs and woke him up. He hated me, but I did capture some cute pictures!

And yes, we did give Tristan a pony tail. Haha.
After a long day in the sun, we had a major grub out! I made some delicious cheeseburgers, steamed shrimp, pasta salad and washed it all down with Jose, Korbel and Bud...nice combination, I know. Haha. After we got all fat and happy we headed out of colington and to Jordan's to "pre-game". We got a nice "buzz" and headed to Barefoot's where we met Krista, Jed, Anthony and Jordan. Gooooood times!

Basically, I am just so glad that I got to spend some real quality time with my girlies. I miss them so much and if this summer is anything like what this weekend was, then I definately cannot wait!!

Tuesday, April 15, 2008

Hola!

Wow, I never thought I would find myself here on a blogging site but with the recent turn of events within not only my life, but throughout the world, I decided that I should share my stories and opinons with all of you out there in cyber world.

I am extremely opinonated and full of dramatic stories that will entertain, so sit back and relax and get ready for your daily dose of my sarcastic and fun outlook on life :)