I am feeling very agitated this morning. So many things are under my skin, it's not even funny. This is more of a venting blog so, if you are not at all interested in my rambling then don't read on...
Annoyance #1: Last night was Cinco De Mayo and everyone at work pretty much figured that we would slow since we did not have many reservations. Everything was going great till about 7:30 PM when the flood gates open and I got six (6) tables at once. WOW! Where did all these people come from!?! Haha. I am not complaining cause I made some good money but I was so so so tired. I did not leave Duck till 11 PM, I acquired a blister on the side of each of my feet that is the size of mars and my phone was dead so I could not get a hold of Quinn (though I called from work and got no answer, so I assumed he was asleep). I pull into my drive way at about 11:30 PM and no Quinn in site. He went out to Salt Waters and I would have met him there but he said he was coming home. I guess he lost track of time and didnt get home till after 2, but then, as always, people came home from the bar with him. I was pissed off and tired and completely freaked out. Whatever, its over and done with now but at that time, I was pretty pissy ;)
Annoyance #2: Though the gas crisis has not effected me too much as of yet, reading the news this morning only makes the problem more real to me and makes me realize that it's about to get a little serious here. Oil futures surpassed $121 a barrel, this is the first time in American history it has even been this much. It is predicted that oil prices could reach $150 to $200 a barrel over the next six months to two years, but that it could go even higher. This is just so unnecessary. If the big oil companies were not so greedy and obsessed with making more and more money, but yet were a little compassionate and realized that the American Economy is suffering because they keep jacking up the price of gas. They can afford not to charge so much. Being greedy is a deadly sin and I hope they all rot in hell.... :)
We are in a serious energy crisis people and you need to realize how serious it is getting. Everyone, please try to recycle and go green. We need to start conserving before it is too late.
Annoyance #3: Now we all know I am a HUGE animal rights person but I am terrified of horses. When I was younger I got bucked off at camp and said fuck it. Now I do however think that they are beautiful creatures and their eyes let you see into their soul, they are just not my cup of tea. I was watching the Kentucky Derby on Sunday at work and was so proud of Eight Belles when she crossed the finish line and won but that quickly turned to sadness when she collapsed with two broken ankles. I mean, I cried. I felt so bad for her. But she could have continued to live a life on a farm or something that did not revolve around racing. Instead of keeping her alive, her piece of shit owner put her down. After her Jockey beat her all around the track and pushed her too far, the only thanks she got for winning was being put down. I am sorry but that is so wrong. I remember Caitlin telling me one time when I was bitching about horse racing that they start training the horses and riding them before they are two (2) and that you are not suppose to do that cause they are not fully developed. Poor Eight Belles, she had a shitty life from the beginning and probably treated so badly. Thankfully my good friends, PETA are stepping into save the day. They are trying to petition against thoroughbred horse racing and I completely support them. If you do to, please click here to sign the petition.
Annoyance #4: I really want to know what is going on with all these tornadoes and large storms that are hitting not only the United States but all over the world. The plane states are always getting hit, then last week Suffolk, VA got hit and this past weekend Myanmar was hit by an unbelievably damaging storm. 95 percent of the homes in Bogalay -- a city of 190,000 -- have been destroyed and the citizens of that area have little food and a small amount of eggs and rice. The area's rice has been destroyed, leaving Bogalay with a five-day supply. Water pumps are no ruined, and fuel is scarce. Based on a satellite map made available by the U.N., the storm's damage was concentrated over about a 30,000 square-kilometer area along the Andaman Sea and Gulf of Martaban coastlines, which is home to nearly a quarter of Myanmar's 57 million people. The death toll exceeds 22,000, thus making this storm worse than the Tsunami that hit the same region in late 2004.
The International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies said it had released $190,000 to help with the aftermath of the storm, the European Commission has pledged $3.1 million, Canada $2 million, China $1 million in aid including relief materials worth $500,000 and Thailand $100,000. Meanwhile, the U.S. Embassy in Myanmar has issued a "disaster declaration" in the country and authorized the release of $250,000 for cyclone relief efforts. This may seem like a lot of money, but it is not. This region of the world is going to need a lot of help and a lot of time to rebuild their lives. Any help is better than none, so if you are feeling frisky, please click here to see what you can do in lieu of donations.
And now in Chili we have volcano's erupting. What is going on?? Is this the beginning of the end? Just putting it out there. Thank god my little Chiliean, Katie K. is OK! :)
Tuesday, May 6, 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment